RSS Feed

hidden gem: las cuatro milpas

After a marathon twelve-hour day at work, the thought of cooking left me exhausted.  Defeated, I sat on the couch with a bowl of raisin bran.

(“Wait a minute,” you sniff incredulously. “This is a food blog?” Patience! I’m getting there.)

As I pecked away on my keyboard between bites, my mind started wandering to the first time my now-husband introduced me to San Diego’s Mexican food scene.  (Side note:  My childhood frame of reference of “good” Mexican fare was a little chain joint known as Hacienda in Evansville, Indiana; this idea was improved upon only by my college-aged Wednesday night margarita tradition at a place I affectionately called “La Char.”  Needless to say, my palate was a bit less refined back when I didn’t live 18 miles from Tijuana.)  We scooted down the 5 Freeway, hopped off on the Imperial Avenue exit, and wound our way beneath the Coronado Bridge into Barrio Logan to local gem Las Cuatro Milpas, where the Estudillo family has handcrafted tortillas, grilled chorizo, and lovingly prepared Saturday menudo for three generations.

Las Cuatro Milpas is traditionally standing-room only; expect to wait in line for at least ten to fifteen minutes, especially in peak hours.   It’s cash only, so come prepared, but most meals will only swipe $2 to $5 from your pocket.  I’ve never struck out with the basic rice and beans, but since my conversion several years back to vegetarianism I’ve stuck mostly to the amazing, melt-in-your-mouth hand-rolled tortillas.   It’s located conveniently off the 5 Freeway just north of the Coronado Bridge/CA-75, or accessible by trolley via the Logan Heights station, and is open for breakfast and lunch Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Saturday from 6:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Forgive my lack of photos by checking out Yelp reviews of LCM here, or by brushing up on San Diego’s redevelopment plan for the vibrant Barrio Logan neighborhood with this fact sheet

currently listening: arcade fire, the suburbs

online shop full of baubles to covet: shannon carney

ridiculous quote of the day:  “Honey, I’m your cook, not your doctor” (Paula Deen on a predictable diabetes diagnosis (via The Atlantic)

About sandelicious

former journalist, reluctant lawyer, food lover. waylaid by the beach but an indiana girl at heart.

2 responses »

  1. Do you have a suggestion for pozole soup restaurants? It’s a recently discovered love for me and my husband, and we’re trying to find different restaurants in SD that have it on the weekends!

    Reply

gimme some lip!

